My Worth

I was recently at a peers beautiful house and it struck me that I am a loser. This Friend has a beautiful house, lovely family and work that provides. It is not just this peer but almost all my friends and even kids that I used to babysit. I am not jealous and glad God has blessed them but it struck me that I am a loser. No job, no house, No spouse and children and at the time no car. Downward my mood and thoughts spiralled. Feeling sorry for yourself can lead to nowhere good.

I was blessed with tickets from someone kind at my church to see Kristyn and Keith Getty. For those who don’t know they are a husband and wife singers,writers and performers. The concert was awesome time of praise and worship. I was almost brought to tears when Kristin started to sing a song titled My Worth Is Not in What I own. God knows what we require and provides abundantly.I am still fighting with thoughts of being a loser but as my mom reminds me I am God’s loser*. My story is not yet finished and will continue.  The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis ,  Aslan reminded Shasta and  Aravis ” I am telling you your story, not hers. No-one is told any story but their own.” I don’t know how my story will end but constantly reminded that worth is not but what you own.

*my mom is awesome.

Leave a Reply

