I Got A Rock

While watching Charlie Brown’s  Halloween special I realized that I am Charlie Brown !   Poor old  Charlie gets a rock while everyone else gets loaded up on sweet candy.  I feel like Charlie Brown in a sheet with multiple eye holes and no candy.

Charlie Brown accepts his misfortunes and moves on. Hope, you don’t think any less of me, but I wanted  to throw my rock back. I was in funk and focused on candy. After a day of ugly crying, a conversation with my sister and much prayer this issue has receded. I was dwelling on the fact everyone on the surface has what I desire. Jealousy and frustration clouded my thoughts.  Theodore Roosevelt once said “Comparison is the thief of Joy”.  The enemy takes these thoughts and sin takes over.

Trying to be positive about my rock. I started to think about a rock and all the things you can do with it. Rocks are useful and sometimes beautiful. Foundations of buildings or even a structure can be built entirely of stone. Candy is not a good material for house building unless you are a witch or made of gingerbread. The Bible mentions rocks many times referring to the Lord. In the New Testament Jesus taught of the wise and foolish men. One that built his house on sand and one upon rock. If you stand upon the rock no rushing waves or storms can harm you. If you want to know more you can read about in Matthew 7:24 -27. In working through my issues God has placed this hymn in my heart. These words written so long ago are healing and keeping me on track.

“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”
by Edward Mote, 1797-1874

1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

Leave a Reply

